The Seven Ancient Wonders

The Seven Ancient Wonders

The commonly known Seven Ancient Wonders of the World were all man-made monuments, selected by Philon of Byzantium in 200 B.C. Today, only the Pyramids of Giza in Egypt remain.His selection of wonders was essentially a travel guide for fellow Athenians, and the stunning sites were all located around the Mediterranean basin, the then-known world.

Now, just as Pierre de Coubertin revived the Olympic Games in 1896 with his modern version of the competition, New7Wonders founder Bernard Weber has revived the concept of the 7 Wonders of the World with these ambitious global campaigns, the Official New 7 Wonders of the World, New7Wonders of Nature & New 7 Wonders Cities.


The Seven Ancient Wonders – New 7 Wonders of the World

The key difference

The key difference is that, this time around, they were not chosen by one man, but rather by millions of people all over the world.

The new wonders that have been selected are the people’s choices, and they have been drawn from the earliest time that humankind walked upon the earth up through the year 2000. The natural wonders that will be chosen in the current campaign will then bring our natural heritage onto the same level of appreciation as that which has been made by humans.


Wonderful Content loading...